The Challenges of Being a Millennial Luddite: My Long-Winded Thoughts on Media Today

{ her notebooks & coffee }

“I fear the day that technology will surpass our human interaction. The world will have a generation of idiots.” 

-Albert Einstein

The-luddite-illustration

As someone who writes and reads, craves the crinkly scent of old book shops and quiet walks under autumn leaved trees, someone who was never about “going to the club” or phone apps, and who only just started semi-actively using Twitter, I sometimes feel much too old for my body, and much too old for my tender age.

Although I am a technical member of the “millennial” generation, I often scoff at their decisions, attitudes, and social media obsessions, when I myself am guilty of Facebook addiction, blogging, tumbling, and of course, the occasional Instagram. Oftentimes, I feel like an in-betweener; I am equal parts a 40-year-old cat lady speculating hesitently about the future of the techno boom and a young, up and coming, 20-something, dialed-in to today’s fast…

View original post 1,363 more words

Leave a Reply

